(+84) 982 795 232

Travel News

Viet Nam grants e-visa to citizens of 80 countries

   12-07-2019 06:45 AM
TTO - The Government just issued Decree no.17/2019 on pilot grants of e-visas to citizens, adding 35 countries and 5 border gates in the pilot list.

(Source: Vietnamairportconcierge.com)

The Decree 17/2019 amended and supplemented a number of articles of Decree No. 07/2017/ND-CP prescribing the order and procedures on pilot grant of e-visa.
Although Chinese citizens are on the pilot list of e-visa grant issued under the Decree 07/2017 two years ago, the e-visa pilot list under the Decree 17/2019 still puts China in the group of 35 countries because the country has two new territories to be piloted for e-visa grant including Hong Kong and Macau.
Previously, according to the Decree no. 07/2017, Vietnam granted e-visa to citizens of 40 countries.
In addition to the above two decrees, in November 2017, the Government also issued Resolution no.124 to supplement the list of 6 countries whose its citizens are granted e-visas.
Thus, up to now, there are 80 countries on the list of countries whose citizens are granted e-visas.
For China alone, the pilot of grant of e-visa will not apply to citizens who hold Chinese ordinary e-passports.
In 2017, the Government piloted e-visa grant to citizens of 46 nationals of 40 countries under the Decree 07/2017 inclusing South Korea, Germany, the USA, the Czech Republic, Cuba, Denmark, Greece, Russia, the United Kingdom, Mongolia, Japan, Finland, France, Spain, Sweden, China, Norway, Azerbaijan, Argentina, Armenia, Ireland, Poland, Belarus, Bulgaria, Bruney, Chile, Colombia, Timor Leste, Hungary, Italy, Kazakhstan, Luxembourg, Myanmar, Panama, Peru, Philippines, Romania, Uruguay, Venezuela, Slovakia.
6 countries according to resolution no. 124/2017 including Australia, India, the Netherlands, United Arab Emirates - UAE, Canada, New Zealand.
The new Decree added to the pilot list of e-visa brant with 35 countries (including China with 2 new territories): Austria, Belgium, Portugal, Cyprus, Switzerland, Iceland, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Barazil, Quatar, Andorra, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Coroatia, Estonia, Fiji, Georgia, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Macedonia, Micronesia, Mexico, Moldova, Montenegro, Nauru, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Marshall Islands, Salomon Islands , San Marino, Vanuatu, Western Samoa, Serbia, Slovenia.
In addition, the number of air, road and sea border gates that allow foreigners to enter and exit by e-visa will be added 5, making the total number of border gates up to 33.
The expansion of the list of countries with citizens to be granted e-visas and border gates to allow foreigners to enter and exit by e-visas shows that the Government determines to reform administrative procedures on visas and make favorable conditions for foreigners to enter Vietnam to attract investment, promote tourism to develop key economic sectors.